Auteur Sujet: updating Scorpio - testing  (Lu 2292 fois)

0 Membres et 1 Invité sur ce sujet

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
updating Scorpio - testing
« le: 15 juin 2013 à 01:22:31 »
Has anyone tried to update their deb - testing lately ?

A kernel was updated and wouldn't complete the update
on mine.   postint.d error in the kernel package was the reason
and it wouldn't make an initrd then.

Just wondering.

thx

patrick

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 367
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : updating Scorpio - testing
« Réponse #1 le: 15 juin 2013 à 02:15:27 »
I have switched the repos from Testing to Stable because of the state of flux they are currently in.  Not sure when will be safe to switch back.
What can go wrong !!

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : updating Scorpio - testing
« Réponse #2 le: 16 juin 2013 à 06:04:14 »
I suppose they'll fix it in a few days, as long as they don't
put that kernel in Wheezy.

Has anybody upgraded to the new kernel in wheezy or testing ?
I see it in wheezy for upgrade but I'm going to wait till the end
of the month before I try it, after I take a backup.

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 367
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : updating Scorpio - testing
« Réponse #3 le: 16 juin 2013 à 07:43:32 »
Stable uses linux-image-3.2.0-4-686-pae and Testing has linux-image-3.2.0-4-686-pae listed - is this what you are trying to achieve?  Unstable has linux-image-3.9-1-686-pae but you could cut yourself on that thing!
What can go wrong !!

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1681
    • Citrotux
Re : updating Scorpio - testing
« Réponse #4 le: 16 juin 2013 à 09:55:16 »
Hi, It's certainly very different, but my Arch box has  3.9.6-1-ARCH (since this morning*) and I don't see myself bleeding?  ???  :P

* many mornings kernel version has changed
Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 367
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : updating Scorpio - testing
« Réponse #5 le: 16 juin 2013 à 14:15:37 »
Just "upgraded" a version of VillageBox with Spacefm and all the bells and whistles I've been trialing to Debian Testing.  Not impressed!  Big lag on start up/login, blank screen, different LightDM login dialog box (not "enter" but "tab" to move to next question!)  Don't know what the slightly upgraded kernel does but who cares-  I think Testing needs some time to settle down.  Just curious as to how other distros based on Debian Testing are fairing - Sparky and PureOS spring to mind.
What can go wrong !!

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1681
    • Citrotux
Re : Re : updating Scorpio - testing
« Réponse #6 le: 16 juin 2013 à 16:55:52 »
Just curious as to how other distros based on Debian Testing are fairing - Sparky and PureOS spring to mind.

This is an interesting question. :)

Debian testing is always scary during a few months following the upgrade of the stable one.

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : updating Scorpio - testing
« Réponse #7 le: 16 juin 2013 à 18:57:15 »
Stable uses linux-image-3.2.0-4-686-pae and Testing has linux-image-3.2.0-4-686-pae listed - is this what you are trying to achieve?

Yes both were upgraded this week, both are the same number kernel.
I got a message on the Debian forum that removing the plymouth
package let's the initrd get made.    Have to try that later.     Only
problem I've had with Scorpio - testing.

thx for the response,

patrick

edit: removing plymouth packages solves it, I don't use them
anyway.   Probably avoids the script that's malfunctioning.
Otherwise Scorpio - testing back to normal.
« Modifié: 16 juin 2013 à 22:34:33 par patrick013 »

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 367
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : updating Scorpio - testing
« Réponse #8 le: 17 juin 2013 à 01:33:30 »
Wow - removed plymouth and that sure sped things up!!!  Boots in mere seconds now with no waiting around.  Thanks patrick013 - I'll see how that works out with Scorpio and Serqet.  Maybe testing is looking more "stable" ;D
What can go wrong !!

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : updating Scorpio - testing
« Réponse #9 le: 17 juin 2013 à 23:41:57 »
Here's something else - the stable 7.1 base doesn't have any
plymouth packages,  just our Scorpio testing where I see plymouth
packages.

regards,

Patrick