Auteur Sujet: Scorpio_2013-2  (Lu 14369 fois)

0 Membres et 2 Invités sur ce sujet

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 391
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #30 le: 01 juin 2013 à 15:51:49 »
You have a space between the hyphen and reinstall - it should be a double hyphen, thus apt thinks you are looking for reinstall.
What can go wrong !!!

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1744
    • Citrotux
Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #31 le: 01 juin 2013 à 15:58:04 »
Hi,

apt-get install --reinstall firmware-b43-installer
and if in doubt for any need you can also check options of apt-get on this page: http://linux.die.net/man/8/apt-get

In a general way, the options of commands take one '-' when shortened as a single letter, often two '--' when a full word is used. Another way, when there are two words --word1-word2. Example from the man: "--list-cleanup".

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1744
    • Citrotux
Re : Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #32 le: 01 juin 2013 à 16:18:03 »
Ok now I am connected wireless.  :)

Great! Now you can enjoy all the features of this beautiful version! \o/

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1744
    • Citrotux
Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #33 le: 01 juin 2013 à 16:29:59 »
Hi,

I think you can solve it by removing the package numlockx. I also dislike it, for it locks on numbers while you need to type the password to start the session, and when it's a laptop it's not always obvious to figure out how to unlock. (my life: on a T30 I had to search the web to find out I had to press "Shift" additionnally to the Fn keys).

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 391
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #34 le: 01 juin 2013 à 16:53:12 »
Regarding numlockx - sorry, my bad.  The ~/.config/openbox/autostart file has it to autostart, when it should have been commented not to.  Just go to that file and comment out the line that says - "numlockx on".  I'll fix that for the next edition.  Fortunately it is OK in VillageBox.
What can go wrong !!!

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #35 le: 01 juin 2013 à 21:09:46 »
I just copied and pasted the command from the ubuntu forums from the link that mimas provided. :D

Ok now I am connected wireless.  :)

I knew you'd like wicd.       :D

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #36 le: 02 juin 2013 à 03:59:13 »
Being the developer of openbox-menu helps a little to know about it.
Isn't that the one written in Perl that Semplice uses? The link on this Openbox wiki page is broken. The broken link points to http://mimasgpc.free.fr/openbox-menu_en.html.

Can I ask you some Perl questions?


Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 391
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #37 le: 02 juin 2013 à 06:23:26 »
Citation de: djohnston
Isn't that the one written in Perl that Semplice uses?
Try this link.  I first met openbox-menu through Bonsai at PCLOS two and a half years ago.  I think mimas wrote it in C++.  Semplice uses something different called Alan based on python, which from memory I found to be very clumsy.


EDIT - maybe obam in perl is what you are looking for.
« Modifié: 02 juin 2013 à 07:36:12 par Taco.22 »
What can go wrong !!!

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 391
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Re : Re : Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #38 le: 02 juin 2013 à 08:47:40 »
I do prefer what PClos has.  When you connect a box appears in the upper right corner of the window with info on which router your connected to, signal strength, ip address, and DNS servers.
A pop-up notification of network connection can be made to happen if  "notification-daemon" is installed.  However it only tells you that you're connected without any details.  Of course those details are available through a right click on the network systray icon.  However that's with network-manager-gnome in VillageBox - didn't work with wicd in Scorpio.  I'll look into it further.

What can go wrong !!!

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #39 le: 02 juin 2013 à 10:26:31 »
Try this link.  I first met openbox-menu through Bonsai at PCLOS two and a half years ago.  I think mimas wrote it in C++.  Semplice uses something different called Alan based on python, which from memory I found to be very clumsy.


EDIT - maybe obam in perl is what you are looking for.
Thanks for the link. Bookmarked it for safekeeping. Okay, mimas is the one who originally added the icons capability to Openbox's menu.

You're right. Semplice uses alan. Can't remember whether it's perl, python, bash or whatever. But, yeah, I spent hours tracking down all the pieces of it scattered throughout the system and became ever more confused.

After bookmarking the link to mimas's work, I rediscovered the link I already had for obmenu-generator. I remember you pointed that one out a while back and asked if anyone is versed in perl. Have you looked at it?


Hors ligne mimas

  • Général du Roi
  • Modérateur Global
  • Membre Complet
  • *****
  • Messages: 114
  • Jamais content
    • G+
Re : Re : Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #40 le: 02 juin 2013 à 11:50:32 »
Can I ask you some Perl questions?
You can but I don't do Perl, so don't expect to much.

The wiki link is fixed. The redirector now redirects to the new URL.

>  Okay, mimas is the one who originally added the icons capability to Openbox's menu.

Not exactly, I was the first to use the icon capability; It's a feature of Openbox 3.5.
When any government, or any church for that matter, undertakes to say to its subjects, "This you may not read, this you must not see, this you are forbidden to know," the end result is tyranny and oppression, no matter how holy the motives.

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Re : Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #41 le: 02 juin 2013 à 22:05:29 »
As long as it works.  As my problems were not with wicd, but that the b43 installer needed to be reinstalled.

The thing I like about wicd is that it reconnects automatically
and retries until it is connected.    Doesn't try once and give an
error message.   Sure there's nicer graphical messages and displays
but for a reliable start it is.     I don't even worry about it.

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #42 le: 29 juin 2013 à 01:42:00 »


"could even be interference from next door on  the same freq"

I once logged into a neighbors wifi router and changed to another channel to reduce interference ;) :D :D.   
« Modifié: 29 juin 2013 à 05:46:26 par ka9yhd »

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #43 le: 29 juin 2013 à 02:27:11 »
comment about wicd:

when  I put passwords in all WEP options it works
after setting "ip" instead of auto as connection
options

You mean you're assigning a static IP address for the device instead of using DHCP?

I think wifi is screwed, no matter which software/distro

could even be interference from next door on  the same freq

Might try a different comm channel.

I recently learned that NetworkManager repolls the router for a lease license every few minutes. Evidently, wicd does not do that, in addition to what you've said about wicd automatically renegotiating a dropped connection.

I'm starting to think wicd is the better choice of the two. Gonna run some wireless tests tomorrow.

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Re : Scorpio_2013-2
« Réponse #44 le: 29 juin 2013 à 03:44:18 »
You mean you're assigning a static IP address for the device instead of using DHCP?


Nope.      Set auto to  ip    in preferences
plus put  passwords in every wep or wpa category

I  think it's an outside  glitch.

I  know when my wifi doesn't  work.