Auteur Sujet: Size of new install from remastersys  (Lu 3098 fois)

0 Membres et 1 Invité sur ce sujet

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Size of new install from remastersys
« le: 30 avril 2013 à 23:22:27 »
Hi,

Was able to remaster Scorpio today and install on a new flash drive.
The install should be about 2.9 GB but the install is at 6.0 GB.    Is it
safe to delete /lib/live to get the size down to the right size ?    Anything else that
could be deleted to get the size down to 2.9 GB ?

Surprised the iso installer didn't delete this stuff.

THX

Patrick

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Size of new install from remastersys
« Réponse #1 le: 01 mai 2013 à 13:54:31 »
I don't remember what's in /lib/live. Read this post for suggestions.


Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Size of new install from remastersys
« Réponse #2 le: 02 mai 2013 à 20:54:34 »
I don't remember what's in /lib/live. Read this post for suggestions.

I don't think that post is exactly pertinent.

What mine did was not delete /lib/live/mount/ so the install from the
remaster iso was twice as big.    Manually deleted /lib/live/mount/
then and the exact right size expected was there OK.    Something
the post-install steps probably should have done.

Had a few minor problems with permissions in /home/user but I
think that was my fault somewhat.

Not exactly 100% but not too bad.   

Just FYI,

Patrick

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Size of new install from remastersys
« Réponse #3 le: 03 mai 2013 à 05:57:13 »
Okay, glad you got that sorted out. Did you hear remastersys is changing ownership? Actually, the repo is still up. Tony (fragadelic) emailed me and said the server is still running, but he didn't know for how long.

The OS4 distro has taken ownership.


Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 391
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Size of new install from remastersys
« Réponse #4 le: 03 mai 2013 à 15:48:34 »
That's a damn shame, although I can't say I'm surprised.  That was one hell of a project to sustain and there didn't seem to be the support from the main players that it deserved.  I only hope that OS4 can keep up the concept, otherwise it will be a waste of a valuable tool.  I certainly will miss it - it's what finally swung me toward Debian after the PCLOS fiasco.  Kind of throws the whole remastering process into the air.   
What can go wrong !!!

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1744
    • Citrotux
Re : Re : Size of new install from remastersys
« Réponse #5 le: 03 mai 2013 à 16:45:58 »
Kind of throws the whole remastering process into the air.

If someone with coding skills could port Ubuntu Builder to Debian that would be great. You would not believe how easy to use it is. Saalem came over to me on the #linuxvillage chan a pair of days ago (I should say evening/night) (Saalem is one of the people who has always liked using the Openbox spins made at pclinuxos before) and tested the last Bento2 I put on line, then installed Ubuntu Builder and did his own using the bento2 iso : he could make it his own boot to it, all easily and successfully.

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Size of new install from remastersys
« Réponse #6 le: 04 mai 2013 à 00:25:36 »
From a user standpoint I can think of only 2 or 3 things
Remastersys needs.    I  jury-rig mine a bit so it works
but at least LinuxVillage and Scorpio do install.    I can
copy a Scorpio, change UUID, change fstab, update-grub,
and I have another Scorpio to experiment with that will
mount with the original, but that's a jury-rig job too.

@Taco

While I have your attention.    libmtp-runtime,     can you put
that in LinuxVillage ?     Some mtp-probe during boot needs it,
errors, delays if it isn't.

THX.

Have a good one.

Patrick

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Size of new install from remastersys
« Réponse #7 le: 04 mai 2013 à 03:57:13 »
@Taco

While I have your attention.    libmtp-runtime,     can you put
that in LinuxVillage ?     Some mtp-probe during boot needs it,
errors, delays if it isn't.

THX.

Have a good one.

Patrick

Is the error something like "failed to execute /lib/udev/mtp-probe"? Do you have an MP3 player or something like that plugged into a USB port?


Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 391
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Size of new install from remastersys
« Réponse #8 le: 04 mai 2013 à 08:17:52 »
According to Debian package info libmtp-runtime does this -
Citer
Media Transfer Protocol (MTP) runtime tools

libmtp is a library for communicating with MTP aware devices in POSIX compliant operating systems. It implements MTP Basic, the subset proposed for standardization.

The Media Transfer Protocol (commonly referred to as MTP) is a devised set of custom extensions to support the transfer of music files on USB digital audio players and movie files on USB portable media players.

This package provides mtp-probe, a program to probe newly connected device interfaces from userspace to determine if they are MTP devices, used for udev rules.

It's only about 1.3mb on the HD so what the heck!  Done.
What can go wrong !!!

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Re : Size of new install from remastersys
« Réponse #9 le: 04 mai 2013 à 22:47:40 »
Is the error something like "failed to execute /lib/udev/mtp-probe"? Do you have an MP3 player or something like that plugged into a USB port?

Yes.   And No there is nothing in the usb port except the flash drive with Scorpio
on it.   It waits about ten seconds after that error looking for whatever it's
looking for, then proceeds.    When I added libmtp-runtime it stopped errors and
waiting and just finished the boot.

And thx Taco, the less errors the better, you know.