Auteur Sujet: Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- (Solved)  (Lu 11281 fois)

0 Membres et 1 Invité sur ce sujet

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #15 le: 06 mars 2013 à 14:07:12 »
If I enter /usr/share/applications/nautilus.desktop into the file manager I am presented with an error message:

"The specified directory is not valid"

The file manager is correct. /usr/share/applications/ is the directory and nautilus.desktop should be a file within that directory, assuming that nautilus was installed correctly by Synaptic.

In additions to melodie's directions, you could use the locate database to find all nautilus files. Open a terminal.

su -
updatedb
exit
locate nautilus | grep .desktop

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1690
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #16 le: 07 mars 2013 à 13:24:05 »
No it doesn't. Can you try to redo your post ?

Open your file with geany, I believe it is installed. Do in console:

geany /usr/share/applications/nautilus.desktop //if this is the exact name for the file, if not correct it.

Then in the menus of Geany go to Edit>Select all ; then Edit > Copy ; then in the editor of the forum, right-clic and paste. Once done, select all the text you just pasted in the editor of the forum and click to code button just after, so that the 2 code tags are there the start code tag and the end code tag.

example text
Quote my post if you need to see the start tag and the end tag...

« Modifié: 07 mars 2013 à 13:30:07 par mélodie »
Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1690
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #17 le: 07 mars 2013 à 14:27:16 »
Your file is incomplete.

Can you show me just this from this file: a line where it says "OnlyShowIn=XYZ" where "XYZ" can be names of desktops, and "Category=" with whatever is after the sign "=" ?

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1690
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #18 le: 07 mars 2013 à 20:17:34 »
Here is your guilty line:

Citer
OnlyShowIn=GNOME;

you will have to comment it:

Citer
#OnlyShowIn=GNOME;

and perhaps it would be a good idea to copy it (as user) into your home under:
the  ~/.local/share/applications

(If the directory applications does not exist in your .local/share directory, then you will have to create it).

This way you will have the entry in the menus, and you will also have it lasting even if nautilus is updated, in the future. (Otherwise an update would overwrite your change).

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1690
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #19 le: 07 mars 2013 à 22:26:48 »
Hi,
The sign "~/" stands for "/home/yourself", which for you is "/home/robert", up to there nothing wrong.

I'll have a closer look at this issue you are having and will tell you what I am finding.

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #20 le: 07 mars 2013 à 23:17:37 »
Exec=nautilus
Icon=system-file-manager
Terminal=false
Type=Application
StartupNotify=true
NoDisplay=true
OnlyShowIn=GNOME;
X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Bugzilla=GNOME
X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Product=nautilus
X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Component=general
X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Version=2.32.2.1
X-GNOME-Autostart-Phase=Desktop
X-GNOME-Autostart-Notify=true
X-GNOME-AutoRestart=true
X-GNOME-Provides=filemanager
AutostartCondition=GNOME /apps/nautilus/preferences/show_desktop
Encoding=UTF-8
X-Desktop-File-Install-Version=0.11
Categories=X-MandrivaLinux-System-FileTools;

It seems to have worked at copy/ paste this time using FireFox 19.  The last several attemps were while I was using Chromium.

Now that you've commented the line OnlyShowIn=GNOME; (should now be #OnlyShowIn=GNOME), comment the line NoDisplay=true, so that it reads #NoDisplay=true. The NoDisplay line tells the system not to show the icon. You can also delete both lines entirely, if you wish.

If you have a problem with where the item shows in your menu, post the Categories= line.

EDIT: The NoDisplay= line defines whether the item is displayed in the system menu or not. I suppose you could also set it to NoDisplay=false, but I've always just deleted the line if I want the menu item shown.

« Modifié: 08 mars 2013 à 00:12:57 par djohnston »

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1690
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #21 le: 08 mars 2013 à 00:44:12 »
Hi,

I wonder where to find nautilus in pclos actually ? I have booted the vbox bonsai I have, updated it, and the package manager does not find any nautilus ?   :o

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1690
    • Citrotux
Re : Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #22 le: 08 mars 2013 à 01:38:48 »
I did a search for "nautilus"  and found it.

Please tell me more, where did you found it and how did you install it? If I know I could perhaps help you better.

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1690
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #23 le: 08 mars 2013 à 08:19:32 »
Which one is the repos configured in you system ?
Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #24 le: 08 mars 2013 à 20:26:01 »
But still nothing showing in the menus.

If you have a problem with where the item shows in your menu, post the Categories= line.


djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #25 le: 08 mars 2013 à 20:53:00 »
Look in the above post where you copied and pasted from what I posted  ;).  The last line is:

Categories=X-MandrivaLinux-System-FileTools;

Hmmm. It should be showing in the menu in the File Tools section. Try changing the line to:

Categories=FileManager;X-MandrivaLinux-System-FileTools;

Reboot so that the Openbox menu will be sure to be repopulated. If that doesn't work, you'll need to clear the cache in your home directory.



djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #26 le: 08 mars 2013 à 21:13:58 »
One other possibility comes to mind. Is there a TryExec= line in the desktop file? If so, comment or delete the line. If all else fails, use a file manager to browse to ~/.cache/openbox/sessions/. Delete any files in there, but not the directory itself. Then logout and login again. I can't remember how the version you're using is set up. The menu cache may repopulate as soon as you log in again, or it may take up to five minutes or so.

EDIT: If it were me, I'd also get rid of the following lines:

X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Bugzilla=GNOME
X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Product=nautilus
X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Component=general
X-GNOME-Bugzilla-Version=2.32.2.1
X-GNOME-Autostart-Phase=Desktop
X-GNOME-Autostart-Notify=true
X-GNOME-AutoRestart=true
X-GNOME-Provides=filemanager
AutostartCondition=GNOME /apps/nautilus/preferences/show_desktop

You're not running a Gnome desktop, and you don't need them for Openbox.
« Modifié: 08 mars 2013 à 21:17:58 par djohnston »

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #27 le: 08 mars 2013 à 21:58:55 »
Cool.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1690
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #28 le: 08 mars 2013 à 22:49:54 »
I am happy to know that now it is solved.



Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1690
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- (Solved)
« Réponse #29 le: 13 mars 2013 à 01:11:31 »
It is usually a good one, fast and regularly updated.
Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.