Auteur Sujet: Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- (Solved)  (Lu 10638 fois)

0 Membres et 1 Invité sur ce sujet

ka9yhd

  • Invité
Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- (Solved)
« le: 19 février 2013 à 00:30:31 »
The other nite I was at my friends house and I was using my laptop running PClinuxOS-OpenBox Bonsai.  I could see all of the computers on my friends network using PCmanFM 1.10, but when I clicked on one to view the contents of the hard drive I receive and error message of:

Not mounted


I am not presented with any way to mount the networked computer.
« Modifié: 09 mars 2013 à 02:06:22 par ka9yhd »

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #1 le: 19 février 2013 à 00:58:45 »
More details, please. From PCManFM, you are clicking Go > Network Drives. Then you see networked computers. Is it a Linux BSD or Windows network? Do you have samba client installed? If not, do you have nfs installed?

Are you starting PCManFM as root or as a regular user? Here are a couple of threads dealing with samba mounts:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=10308725&postcount=5
http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get-technical-help-here/applications/461354-ldxe-pcmanfm-superuser-doesnt-work-opensuse-11-4-a.html


djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #2 le: 19 février 2013 à 06:42:04 »
Okay, go to the OpenSuse forums link posted above and start reading from the fourth post (oldcpu's). To cut to the chase, the next post, from anubisg1, says:

Citer
using "su -" than pcmanfm works without warning.

Try that method, browse to the networked drive, try to mount it, then see if you get a samba prompt for a user and password. Open a terminal.

su -
pcmanfm &
exit

Don't enter exit in the terminal until you have closed pcmanfm.


Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 367
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #3 le: 19 février 2013 à 07:15:32 »
Have you tried using Gigolo?  I know it's a different distro but this Mint thread on your question might help.  It's LXDE with PCManFM - close!

Also look at melodie's tip on using Gigolo.  Gigolo does Windows shares.

EDIT - found this on the PCLOS forum.  The suggestion was Pyneighborhood but in the end lead to this link on the Mint forums. 
Basically the upshot is that if you're not using Nautilus then your FM - PCManFM, Thunar etc - need a helper to network.  Gigolo and Pyneighborhood are two, and they should both be in your PCLOS repo.
« Modifié: 19 février 2013 à 07:35:17 par Taco.22 »
What can go wrong !!

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #4 le: 20 février 2013 à 06:58:50 »
Have you tried using Gigolo?

I've never had success using Gigolo.

It just doesn't see everything.   If not installed at boot.

I've thought it needs a refresh button, where hald would
pick  up new usb's after boot.   Or network items  contacted
after boot as well.   Refresh would run hald and bingo,
everything would be there.   Like fsarchiver probe from
terminal, waiting to be mounted in the Gigolo  gui.

Maybe I'm just stupid about something, I use PcManFM
instead.   But Gigolo does have the potential, but doesn't
perform up to it for me.   Could be a great "mount tool"  .

Perhaps run hald from root terminal, could refresh PcManFM
as well.

Oh well.

Patrick013

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 367
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #5 le: 20 février 2013 à 07:15:06 »
Gigolo needs to be started, either from apps menu or in autosart, and then connected to the remote server.  It can bookmark a remote server if it is a regular.  You launch Gigolo, you make the connection, then you view that connection through a FM nominated in Gigolo's prefs.  If you minimize Gigolo and close the FM, you need to bring Gigolo back up to reopen the FM.

This is where I might have another play around with Nautilus - it auotmounts network shares.  It's just a bit of a handful in a minimal setting such as OB!!
What can go wrong !!

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #6 le: 20 février 2013 à 20:57:18 »
This is where I might have another play around with Nautilus - it auotmounts network shares.  It's just a bit of a handful in a minimal setting such as OB!!

Multiple dependencies!

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 367
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #7 le: 21 février 2013 à 00:08:01 »
Citation de: djohnston
Multiple dependencies!

Yeah, last time I tried out Nautilus in Openbox I needed a big stick to try and beat it into shape and stop it trying to take over the world.  And talk about a dependency issue!!  Still, time is a great healer and I am almost ready to go through the pain again - this time with a bigger stick!!
What can go wrong !!

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1682
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #8 le: 21 février 2013 à 15:52:47 »
Hi ka9yhd,

Wouldn't it be more simple to install Nautilus in your PCLOS Openbox ?

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #9 le: 21 février 2013 à 22:55:17 »
Hi ka9yhd,

Wouldn't it be more simple to install Nautilus in your PCLOS Openbox ?

And/or try gigolo, as Taco.22 has suggested?

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1682
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #10 le: 22 février 2013 à 01:13:11 »
The problem with gigolo is that it is outdated and no more maintained, as far as I know. Nautilus might provide much better results.

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 367
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #11 le: 22 février 2013 à 02:05:54 »
Citer
The problem with gigolo is that it is outdated and no more maintained, as far as I know.

The fact that something may not currently be under active development doesn't mean that it won't work properly, depending on how complicated it is.  Gigolo is simply a front end, a GUI, for GIO/GVFS.  The last release was in 2010 but a number of distros still offer it as their default network manager - because it just works.

When you install it you also need to install gvfs.  Make sure that includes gvfs-backends - in Debian that is a separate download.  Easiest way to run it is to autostart it and have it in the system tray.  Click on it, set up the connection then open the session in your file manager.  Gigolo default in prefs is "gvfs-open" - if that doesn't fire up the FM then edit the pref with the name of the FM.  Thunar needs its name, Spacefm uses gvfs-open - don't know what PCManFM needs.

Citer
Nautilus might provide much better results.
Nautilus is a whole other kettle of fish - I'm playing with it now and hope to have a test ISO posted soon so people can try it out.
What can go wrong !!

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1682
    • Citrotux
Re : Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #12 le: 22 février 2013 à 02:29:26 »
I'm playing with it now and hope to have a test ISO posted soon so people can try it out.

We will have to recruit a few more testers. :)

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1682
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #13 le: 05 mars 2013 à 22:53:57 »
Hi Robert,

Please copy/paste here the content of you file /usr/share/applications/nautilus.desktop and we will be able to provide you with a modified one which will show in the menus. I think there is a line "NotShowIn" or, "ShowOnlyIn" which bothers and has to be tweaked.

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1682
    • Citrotux
Re : Using PCmanFM to view networked computers---- Help please
« Réponse #14 le: 06 mars 2013 à 02:10:24 »
Hi,

Just open a console and look what you find, this way:

ls /usr/share/applications/nautilus<tab>

where <tab> is when you press the tab key of the keybaord. Or you can also type:

ls /usr/share/applications/nautilus*

and if files having a name which starts with "nautilus", the shell in the console will complete the name. Then bring back the result here.

If you find the nautilus*.desktop file, you can then do in console:

cd /usr/share/applications/
then type the name of the text editor and give the file name as argument. ie:

geany nautilus*
then it should open it in geany and you just have to copy paste the content. (using the console is often less confusing than looking a several dozen icons).

/you can't go into "/usr/share/applications/nautilus.desktop" because nautilus.desktop will be a file, not a folder.



« Modifié: 06 mars 2013 à 02:11:58 par mélodie »
Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.