Auteur Sujet: Password for Remastersys iso  (Lu 13879 fois)

0 Membres et 1 Invité sur ce sujet

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Re : Re : Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #30 le: 20 février 2013 à 04:34:40 »
What makes you think it won't work ?

I think you misunderstood me, or I misunderstood you. I wasn't implying that a remaster of Scorpio wouldn't work, I was implying that it's quite a bit different than the LinuxVillage remaster. I thought the beginning of this thread was about a problem remastering your LinuxVillage installation using remastersys. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #31 le: 20 février 2013 à 04:55:36 »
There is no reason why Scorpio won't work, but it is different to VillageBox.  Scorpio is based on the first series of Debian net-install that I did - Wheezy_OB.  However somehow in that build I failed to install the locale packages that enabled other languages.  Melodie took hold of it, installed the locale/language software and then reinstalled all the apps so that the spin could be done in French.  Later I downloaded her French edition, converted it back to English, added other software and released it as a stripped down version.  Djohnston then got hold of it and added software that made managing language and locale simple.  Somewhere along the line it was christened VillageBox.

The original Scorpio still works fine - it just won't convert to other languages.  I have a new one based on VillageBox sitting in the wings, but in the meantime the original version is perfectly workable.

Hi,

thanks for the response.

Somewhere I deleted a package called locales-all, can't remember
which one on, Scorpio or VillageBox.   Just to make upgrades less MB's.

Upgraded a bunch of other packages.     Somebody should upgrade the
base Scorpio and release it then every few months.   There's a fellow at Fedora that takes
their base spins, upgrades everything, and posts the current iso's fully
upgraded every few months.     Why ?     So if you choose a particular spin
you won't have to upgrade possibly hundreds of packages.    He volunteered
to do the upgrades,    make  new iso's,   and provide the current spins as of
that date with everything current, on a Fedora approved website.     He does
that with every spin  not EOL.

I'm just looking to the future, these Debian people like to do alot of upgrades
it looks like.

Scorpio is working fine BTW, clicking along just fine.    Always need a root
password to shutdown, Something Debian does I guess.

I have a nice OpenBox script for the weather and one for system info that
fit in the OpenBox menu, like Places.   Once I get them installed and working I'll post a
copy if anybody wants to use something like that.     

Another good OpenBox distro coming up looks like.

Aren't computers fun ?

Have a good one.

Patrick013

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 391
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #32 le: 20 février 2013 à 07:34:52 »
Citer
Somewhere I deleted a package called locales-all,
Just a gut feeling but I think removing that then reduces the language and locale functions.  That's OK on a home system but could be a bit limiting in a remaster.  Someone might correct me on that.

Citer
Somebody should upgrade the base Scorpio and release it then every few months.
Once the next Scorpio is up that regime will be met.  Currently VillageBox gets updated and re-released on a semi regular basis - seasonally is about good.

Citer
Always need a root password to shutdown
That shouldn't be the case.  Is that from the right-click menu or the keybinding?  Could you post the logout/shutdown part of ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml.

Citer
Another good OpenBox distro coming up looks like.
Scorpio was my original spin, and still my favourite.  The embedded terminal works well for me, Pytyle is the icing on the cake, and the clean interface is what I think OpenBox is all about.  Glad you like it.
« Modifié: 20 février 2013 à 07:38:28 par Taco.22 »
What can go wrong !!!

Hors ligne melodie

  • Administrateur
  • Membre Héroïque
  • *****
  • Messages: 1767
    • Citrotux
Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #33 le: 20 février 2013 à 13:20:01 »
Yes ! And there is no standard as such, standard is a concept, so, Patrick, your standard is whatever you want it to be. ;)

Good leaders being scarce, following yourself is allowed.

djohnston

  • Invité
Re : Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #34 le: 21 février 2013 à 22:53:39 »
As far as I know, you are hosed at this point. I think that this is a bug that the programmer can not get past.

From recent experimentation, I gotta backtrack on my opinion of remastersys a bit. In my case, I found the problem was actually somewhere in /etc/skel before remastersys was run. I discovered this today through experimentation. I moved the /etc/skel directory to /skel, recreated an empty /etc/skel directory, then used the remastersys program to repopulate /etc/skel from my user settings. The result wasn't perfect, but the iso did boot and autologin to the desktop.

Something to consider.

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #35 le: 22 février 2013 à 00:36:53 »
I moved the /etc/skel directory to /skel, recreated an empty /etc/skel directory, then used the remastersys program to repopulate /etc/skel from my user settings.

Thanks for finding a workaround for that.   

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #36 le: 22 février 2013 à 01:16:52 »
That shouldn't be the case.  Is that from the right-click menu or the keybinding?  Could you post the logout/shutdown part of ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml.

It requires the root password when there is a root program open.
Not unless, a bit odd as I haven't had to do that before.   

I use the pygtk-shutdown script and i3lock to lock the screen as I
usuallt don't suspend or hibernate.

thanks for the response.

Patrick

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 391
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #37 le: 22 février 2013 à 02:17:52 »
Citer
It requires the root password when there is a root program open.

Oh, that's OK then.  All that is saying is that the computer can't shut down because root is active elsewhere and needs the root password to do so.  The shutdown command can only be done as root, and the command in menu.xml automatically bestows root privileges.  Just make sure nothing is open as root when you shutdown, or just enter the root password if you get the "error" message.

Citer
I use the pygtk-shutdown script and i3lock to lock the screen as I usually don't suspend or hibernate.

What's wrong with the commands in the right-click menu - there is even a keybinding for shutdown!  The suspend/hibernate are only there for laptops - I comment them out on my desktop system.
What can go wrong !!!

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #38 le: 22 février 2013 à 02:59:06 »
What's wrong with the commands in the right-click menu - there is even a keybinding for shutdown!  The suspend/hibernate are only there for laptops - I comment them out on my desktop system.

Nothing's really wrong with them, just that I've been using
pygtk-shutdown for years, personal preference I guess.
Was surprised it even worked on Scorpio.    Put it in a separate
OB menu with some screensaver commands.

Suspend/hibernate are not working on my Asus netbook.
I just lock the screen if I would leave for a long time.

Is there a keybinding just to pop up the OB menu ?   Could
arrow down from there anything I wanted.

Have a good one then.

Patrick

Hors ligne Taco.22

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 391
    • Scorpio_Openbox
Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #39 le: 22 février 2013 à 05:48:24 »
Citer
Is there a keybinding just to pop up the OB menu ?

If you open ~/user_name/.config/openbox/rc.xml and go to line 262 or thereabouts, you should see this-
<keybind key="A-space">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>client-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>

Just copy and paste that immediately below and edit it so -
<keybind key="C-space">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>

Note the changes - C-space instead of A-space and root-menu instead of client-menu.  However the keybinding can be whatever you want it to be.  Just save, reconfigure OB and you are good to go.  I'll have to go through the other spins and see what needs to be updated for this.
What can go wrong !!!

Hors ligne patrick013

  • Membre Senior
  • ****
  • Messages: 252
Re : Password for Remastersys iso
« Réponse #40 le: 26 février 2013 à 23:29:30 »
Well I've actually got Scorpio to remaster OK.   Chattr'd
the remastersys configuration file shut so I can't change
it.   Had to add some things to the /etc/skel customizations,
still think I missed Firefox extensions in that.   The program
didn't  want to bring some things forward.

But, the basic remaster is fine now that I just use the config's
in the program.

Patrick